TAFEs, registered training organisations, Learn Locals and universities in metropolitan Melbourne will operate under different rules to those in rural and regional Victoria with new restrictions in place from 11.59pm Wednesday 5 August until at least Sunday 13 September.

Metropolitan Melbourne will move to Stage 4 restrictions, and regional and rural Victoria, including Mitchell Shire, will move to Stage 3 restrictions.

In Stage 4 areas, remote and online learning is required for all delivery, except for critical teaching, research and ancillary activities that cannot be delivered remotely. In Stage 3 areas, on-site attendance will be permitted for practical teaching, research and other activity that can’t be conducted remotely or online.