Running a language program

This section includes guidance to set up and manage a language program in your school.

All Victorian schools are required by legislation, and as a condition of their registration with the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (VRQA), to provide instruction in the eight learning areas, including languages.

Schools are responsible for selecting the language(s) they teach in consultation with their local communities.

The Victorian Curriculum Languages - provides language-specific curriculum in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese. A number of additional language-specific curriculums continue to be developed.​