Rural School Size Adjustment Factor (Reference 4)

The Rurality component recognises the need for a rural size adjustment factor to be provided to small rural schools. This will ensure that their educational provisions are equal to urban areas.

Eligible for funding:

  • Small primary schools
  • Secondary colleges
  • P-12 colleges in non-metropolitan locations
  • P-12 colleges in non-provincial locations

This funding applies to eligible primary schools with enrolments of up to 200 students, and eligible secondary colleges with enrolments of up to 500 students.

The Rural School Size Adjustment Factor allocation to schools is funded on a per student rate. The per student rate is split into credit and cash and contains provisions for payroll tax, superannuation, relief teaching and professional development.

Locations defined

  1. Non-metropolitan locations are outside the Melbourne capital city boundary, defined by the  Accessibility/Remoteness Index of Australia (ARIA)
  2. Non-provincial locations are outside Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo, Shepparton-Mooroopna, Warrnambool, Albury-Wodonga, Mildura and Traralgon.


School Type ​Enrolment
​Primary (non-metropolitan and non-provincial)​≤ 200
​Secondary (non-metropolitan and non-provincial)​≤ 500
​Primary/Secondary Combined* (non-metropolitan and non-provincial)

​Pri ≤ 200


Sec ≤ 500

 *For Primary/Secondary Combined school type, primary and secondary enrolments eligibility are used separately.


Enrolment × Per Student Rate

  • Total enrolments are rounded down in calculating Rural School Size Adjustment Factor.
  • The rates are provided in an Excel table, split on three separate columns by school type and size.

Rurality Rates for 2020 (xlsx - 66.25kb)