Recognising leadership and innovation in education

​Meet the winners of the 2018 Victorian Education Excellence Awards' nine categories and the overall Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education.

The Victorian Education Excellence Awards celebrate outstanding school professionals and education practices in Victorian government schools.

The awards recognise individual endeavour and team initiatives that contribute to improved outcomes for students through leadership, innovation and collaboration by teachers, principals, business managers and education support staff.

In 2018, 30 finalists were shortlisted across nine award categories. All category winners were eligible for the prestigious Lindsay Thompson Award for Excellence in Education which recognises the contribution judged to be most outstanding. All winners share in $220,000 worth of professional development grants.

The winners of the 2018 Victorian Education Excellence Awards were announced on Friday 26 October – World Teachers' Day in Australia – at a prestigious presentation ceremony held at Melbourne's Plaza Ballroom at the Regent Theatre.

2018 ​Lindsay Thompson Award for Exc​​​ellence in Education

This year, the Lindsay Thompson Award was awarded to the Principal Class team at Narre Warren South P-12 College.

2018 Lindsay Thompson Award winner Narre Warre​n South Principal Class Team

Creating a culture of aspiration and achievement has been the catalyst to Narre Warren South P-12 College's incredible transformation over the past three years. 

The team includes Rob Duncan, Elizabeth Swan, Aaron Sykes, Peter Langham, Luke Abdallah, Stephen Mahoney, Monique Guerin, Ursula Guerin and Ross Larson. The team was recognised because of its unwavering focus on data-driven priority setting, placing improved outcomes for students at the core of every leadership decision. The leadershi​p team is dedicated to ensuring that every student leaves school with the life skills and pathway to succeed beyond their time at Narre Warren South P-12 College.

Following the win on Friday night, Principal Rob Duncan said, 'The award recognises the achievement we've had in moving from a priority review school to a school of influence over the last few years, and that's involved a lot of hard work from the leadership team, 200 staff and over 2000 students at the school.'

'The award is also an acknowledgement of a job that's been done, but there is still a lot more work to do. That's always the case in education, if you stand still you're going backwards so this will be a good opportunity for us to improve the school further and develop it into the ideal we'd like it to be.'

Meet the winners of each category in the 2018 Victorian Education Excellence Awards

Innovation, leadership and inclusion were common themes across the nine award categories which recognised the hard work and dedication of outstanding individuals and team initiatives to improve student outcomes.

The winners in each category are featured below:

Outstanding Primary Teacher Award

Kerri Smith​
Fish Creek and D​istrict Primary School​

Outstanding Secondary Teacher Award

Cassandra Marinopoulos​
Berwick College​​

Outstanding Primary Principal Award

Jane Satchwell
Chelsea Heights Pri​mary School​

Outstanding Secondary Principal Award

Robert Pyer​​s
Horsham College​​

Outstanding Business Manager Award

Chris Dickson
Warrnambool College​

Outstanding Education Support Team Award

Melbourne Girls' College​​

Outstanding Koorie Education Award

Bruthen Primary Sch​​ool

Outstanding Inclusive Education Award

Warringa Park School​​

Outstanding School Advancement Award

Narre Warren South P-12​​ College​

Read the stories of the 2018 VEEA winners
Announced on Friday 26 October