Navigator case management program

​​The Navigator program supports disengaged young people to return to education and learning.

Navigator works with young people, their families and support networks to address issues underlying disengagement and help them re-engage with their education.

Navigator is delivered by contracted community service organisations, who work closely with local schools and school area teams. In each area the program is tailored to its local community and range of services.

EOI now open: Expansion to three new Areas

The Department is pleased to announce that three new Areas, Outer Gippsland, Inner Eastern Melbourne and Outer Eastern Melbourne will commence delivering the Navigator program in January 2021.

Expressions of Interest for service provision in the three new areas are now open

To apply, please refer to the Navigator Program Overview (docx - 222.13kb) document and Navigator Application Form (docx - 79.63kb).

Applications close 11.59pm, Sunday 18 October, 2020.

Information sessions and frequently asked questions

Two information sessions were held for interested applicants on 22 and 24 September. These were held remotely, due to COVID-19 restrictions.

A copy of the presentation can be found here:

Questions and answers asked about the EOI to date can be found here:

For a recording of the presentation, or if you have any questions please send an email to navigator@education.vic.gov.au

Information about Victorian funding requirements can be found here:

Video overview of the Navigator program

 

Eligibility and making a referral to the Navigator program

Participation in the Navigator program is by referral and anyone can make a referral. If you know of a young person who meets the following eligibility criteria, you can make an online referral.  

Eligibility criteria

Navigator is available to young people who:

  • are aged between 12 and 17 years of age
  • have attended less than 30% of the previous school term (if enrolled in a school)
  • either live in or have most recently been enrolled in an education setting in a Navigator area (xlsx - 115.26kb).
Make an online referral to the Navigator program
Anyone can refer a young person to the program

Get assistance with eligibility criteria or to make a referral

For young people in a Navigator area that do not meet the eligibility criteria for Navigator, or if you are unsure whether they meet the criteria, contact your local Navigator Coordinator to discuss. Navigator Coordinators can also assist with making a referral if you do not wish to use the online referral form.  

Western Melbourne

Location: Footscray
Navigator coordinator: Kerryn Williams
Phone number: (03) 7005 1830 M: 0436 802 442
Email: williams.kerryn.l@edumail.vic.gov.au

Central Highlands

Location: Ballarat
Navigator coordinator: Iestyn Opie​
Phone number: (03) 4334 0588
Email: opie.iestyn.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Bayside Peninsula

Location: Frankston
Navigator coordinator: Judi Stanton
Phone number: (03) 8765 5600
Email: stanton.judith.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

Southern Melbourne

Location: Dandenong
Navigator coordinator: Louise Palalagi
Phone number: (03) 8765 5645
Email: palalagi.louise.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Goulburn

Location: Shepparton
Navigator coordinator: Dave Bennett
Phone number: (03) 8392 9500
Email: bennett.david.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Ovens Murray

Location: Benalla
Navigator coordinator: Colleen Drury
Phone number: (03) 8392 9605

Email: drury.colleen.c@edumail.vic.gov.au

Hume Moreland

Location: Coburg
Navigator coordinator: Rebecca Lee
Phone number: (03) 8468 9262

Email: Rebecca.Lee@education.vic.gov.au

Mallee

Location: Mildura
Navigator coordinator: Jacinta Allen
Phone number: (03) 5051 1333
Email: allen.jacinta.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Brimbank Melton 

Location: Keilor
Navigator coordinator: Vanessa Griffin
Phone number: (03) 9194 6304
Email: griffin.vanessa.v@edumail.vic.gov.au​​

Loddon Campaspe

Location: Bendigo
Navigator coordinator: Younes Benhim
Phone number: (03) 5440 3313
Email:benhim.younes.y@edumail.vic.gov.au

Inner Gippsland 

Location: Moe
Navigator coordinator: Rhiannon Edwards
Phone number: (03) 5127 0456
Email:
edwards.rhiannon.r@edumail.vic.gov.au

Barwon

Location: Geelong
Navigator coordinator: Anne Nichols
Phone number: (03) 8871 2525
Email:
nichols.anne.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Wimmera South West

Location: Warrnambool
Navigator coordinator: Laura Main
Phone number: (03) 8871 2532
Email:
main.laura.l@edumail.vic.gov.au

North Eastern Melbourne

Navigator coordinator: Emma Couper
Phone number: (03) 7022 2446
Email:
couper.emma.e@edumail.vic.gov.au

Navigator is not available in my area

If there is currently no Navigator service provided in your area, please contact your local Department office to discuss alternative forms of support. 

Note that from 2021, Navigator will be operating statewide.

Privacy

In accordance with Departmental policy, referrals for young people eligible to participate in for support from the Navigator program will be passed directly from the Navigator Coordinator to the provider. Parent/carer consent is not required for this process to take place. The provider will then undertake assertive outreach with the young person and their family. Participation in the Navigator program is voluntary.

For more on privacy at DET please refer to the Schools’ Privacy Policy.

More information

For general enquiries about Navigator email navigator@edumail.vic.gov.au

Make an online referral to the Navigator program or contact your local office.