Disability Inclusion: extra support for children with disability

For an easy English version of this information, download Disability Inclusion (accessible) (pdf - 1.67mb).

The Victorian Government is investing nearly $1.6 billion in Disability Inclusion.

Disability Inclusion is part of the Government’s approach to inclusive education. It’ll help make sure children with disability can take part in their learning on the same basis as a child without disability.

What Disability Inclusion involves

Disability Inclusion will provide extra support for children with disability in government schools.

Support resources

We want our teachers to have the right skills to meet the needs of all children. Disability Inclusion will deliver new resources and initiatives to help schools to better include children with disability. They include:

  • more professionals in schools who are experts in disability
  • coaching
  • professional learning
  • evidence-based guidance and resources
  • scholarships for school staff.

These resources and initiatives will be available to all Victorian government schools from the middle of 2021.

Disability inclusion profile

Your child's school will work with you to create a Disability Inclusion profile.  The profile is a written description of your child's strengths and needs at school. It'll help the school give your child the support they need.

A facilitator will help the group deliver your child’s Disability Inclusion Profile. A facilitator is someone who works with groups of people. They encourage everyone to share ideas, understand one another’s point of view and share responsibility. 

Your child’s school will get extra resources to help:

  • meet the needs of more children
  • continue supporting children with high needs.

When Disability Inclusion will start

Disability Inclusion will be introduced over five years, starting in Term 4, 2021.

If your child is part of the Program for Students with Disability (PSD), they'll continue to get support from their school as we introduce Disability Inclusion and it replaces the PSD. Your child’s school will help you work through the new Disability Inclusion Profile.

The support initiatives will be available to all Victorian Government schools from the middle of 2021.

When your child will complete their Disability Inclusion Profile depends on the Local Government Area (LGA) of the school that your child goes to.

Year 1 (2021)

Bayside Peninsula (SE-M)

  • Frankston
  • Bayside
  • Glen Eira
  • Kingston
  • Mornington Peninsula
  • Port Phillip
  • Stonnington

Barwon (SW-R)

  • Colac Otway
  • Greater Geelong
  • Queenscliffe
  • Surf Coast

Loddon Campaspe (NW-R)

  • Campaspe
  • Central Goldfields
  • Greater Bendigo
  • Loddon
  • Macedon Ranges
  • Mount Alexander

Supported Inclusion Schools

  • Riverwalk Primary School
  • Elevation Secondary College
  • Keelonith Primary School
  • Riverbend Primary School
  • Cranbourne West Secondary College

More information is available about supported inclusion schools.

Year 2 (2022)

Outer Eastern Melbourne (NE-M)

  • Knox
  • Maroondah
  • Yarra Ranges

Central Highlands (SW-R)

  • Ararat
  • Ballarat
  • Golden Plains
  • Hepburn
  • Moorabool
  • Pyrenees

Mallee (NW-R)

  • Buloke
  • Gannawarra
  • Mildura
  • Swan Hill

Year 3 (2023)

Inner Gippsland (SE-R)

  • Bass Coast
  • Baw Baw
  • Latrobe
  • South Gippsland

Ovens Murray (NE-R)

  • Alpine
  • Benalla
  • Indigo
  • Mansfield
  • Towong
  • Wangaratta
  • Wodonga

Western Melbourne (SW-M)

  • Hobsons Bay
  • Maribrynong
  • Melbourne
  • Mooney Valley
  • Wyndham

Year 4 (2024)

North Eastern Melbourne (NW-M)

  • Banyule
  • Darebin
  • Nillumbik
  • Whittlesea, Yarra

Southern Melbourne (SE-M)

  • Cardinia
  • Casey
  • Greater Dandenong

Brimbank Melton (SW-M)

  • Brimbank
  • Melton

Goulburn (NE-R)

  • Greater Shepparton
  • Mitchell
  • Moira
  • Murrindindi
  • Strathbogie

Year 5 (2025)

Hume Moreland (NW-M)

  • Hume
  • Moreland

Outer Gippsland (SE-R)

  • East Gippsland
  • Wellington

Wimmera South West (SW-R)

  • Corangamite
  • Glenelg
  • Hindmarsh
  • Horsham
  • Moyne
  • Northern Grampians
  • Southern Grampians
  • Warrnambool
  • West Wimmera
  • Yarriambiack

Inner Eastern Melbourne (NE-M)

  • Boroondara
  • Manningham
  • Monash
  • Whitehorse

During the changes, we'll talk to schools, families and children with disability to make sure the new Disability Inclusion meets their needs.

Contact us

If you have questions about the new Disability Inclusion package you can email disability.inclusion@education.vic.gov.au