Victorian schools win at 2021 Australian Education Awards

Congratulations Albert Park College and YarraMe School on their outstanding achievements

Two Victorian government schools have been recognised for their contribution to their community at the recent Australian Education Awards.

In a virtual ceremony on Friday 3 December 2021, Albert Park College was named government Secondary School of the Year and also received the overall award for Australian School of the Year. YarraMe School won the Special Education School of the Year award.

Congratulations to both Victorian schools on this prestigious recognition.

Now in their fourth year, the Australian Education Awards showcase top-performing schools, department heads and teachers across all education sectors.

Creativity inspires success at Albert Park College

In a fantastic result, Albert Park College received the government School of the Year award and went on to win the Australian School of the Year award across all education sectors.

The school was acknowledged for consistently high standards of teaching and learning along with academic and other achievements during 2020.

Principal Steven Cook said 'belief in creativity and innovation' underpinned the school's success.

'Our music, dance, drama and visual and digital arts programs are grabbing the attention of students and overcoming the common problem of student disengagement,' Steven said.

'We were ahead of the digital education curve and were already effectively online before the lockdowns came and we have reorganised the school around positive education, creating an atmosphere of kindness and personal self-confidence.'

He said the award was 'a wonderful vindication of the hard work we have done.'

'I see it mostly as a testament to the quality and depth of our instructional leadership and the ability of the school to convey its strengths to the local parents,' he said.

'It proves that with the right approach, public schools can provide the sort of education the whole community is looking for.'

Engaging meaningfully at YarraMe School

YarraMe School in Preston received the Special Education School of the Year award.

The school supports students who are at-risk of disengaging from school — some as young as 5 — back into mainstream education.

Principal Nance Sidoti said the school was 'honoured to have received this formal recognition'.

'Despite the significant interruption to school programs caused by COVID-19 over the past 2 years, our staff held true to the school's vision, mission and values, by delivering meaningful and valuable community programs as well elevating the recognition and importance of social and emotional learning,' Nance said.

Find out more

For more information on the awards and to view the full list of award recipients, refer to Australian Education Awards 2021 Winners.

Albert Park students and Principal Steven Cook.