The Department is organised into seven central groups and has four regions with nine regional offices.


  • Policy Reform Group
  • Strategy and Performance Group
  • Infrastructure and Finance Services Group
  • People and Executive Services Group
  • Early Childhood and School Education Group
  • Higher Education and Skills Group
  • Regional Services Group

Regional offices

​​​​​​​​​The Department uses a regional model to deliver education services across the state. Under this model the state is div​ided into four regions: North-Eastern, North-Western, South-Eastern and South-Western Victoria​.

For more information and a regional map, see: Regions

To contact a regional office, see: Contact Us - Regions

Statutory authorities

The Department also works in conjunction with statutory bodies: Adult, Community and Further Education Board; Children's Services Coordination Board; Disciplinary Appeals Boards; Merit Protection Boards; Victorian Children's Council; Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority; Victorian Institute of Teaching; and the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority. For more information, see: Statutory Authorities

Advisory councils

The Department also works in conjuction with advisory councils: School Policy and Funding Advisory Council and the Victorian Children's Council. For more information, see: Advisory Councils

Audit and Risk Committee

​The Audit and Risk Committee assists the Secretary of the Department to oversee governance, risk management, audit and control assurance activities. For more information, see: Audit and Risk Committee

Organisation chart

For further detail about the Department's organisational structure, see:
Organisation Chart (pdf - 562.47kb)