Koorie Education Coordinator Contact Details

Schools, parents and community can obtain assistance with Koorie cultural inclusion, Koorie education guidance and support through  their region by contacting the Koorie Education Coordinators (KEC) with enquiries.

The KEC is able to arrange for a Regional Koorie Engagement Support Officer (KESO) to be assigned to any school where contact with Koorie families may be requested.

KESOs are area based professionals who are members of the local Aboriginal community with an understanding of Aboriginal culture and the history of their community. KESOs provide advice to schools about culturally inclusive learning environments, co-ordination of services to support engagement and improved outcomes for Koorie children and young people.

KESOs play an integral role in working with families, communities, education and service providers to support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander learners to participate fully in education. They support students and families through transitions across all learning stages where appropriate: into early years, primary, secondary and further education.

North Eastern Victoria

Ovens Murray

Steve Pickering
+61 3 7022 1996
pickering.steve.s@edumail.vic.gov.au

Inner Eastern

Arbup Peters
+61 3 7022 1692
peters.arbup.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Outer Eastern

Arbup Peters
+61 3 7022 1692
peters.arbup.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

Goulburn

Brett West
+61 3 5891 2552
west.brett.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

North Western Victoria

Mallee

Hume Moreland

Bendigo

Greensborough/Coburg

Elliejean Singh
+61 3 8468 9227  
singh.elliejean.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Loddon

Stephen Korp
+61 3 5440 3353
korp.stephen.j@edumail.vic.gov.au

South Eastern Victoria

Southern Melbourne

Shilo Van Sanden
+61 3 8766 5695
van.sanden.shilo.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Bayside Peninsula

Shilo Van Sanden
+61 3 8766 5695
van.sanden.shilo.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Outer Gippsland

Inner Gippsland

Crystal Burgess-Hogg 
+61 3 5127 0400
burgess-hogg.crystal.I@edumail.vic.gov.au

South Western Victoria

Barwon

Sandra Brogden
 +61 3 5215 5175
brogden.sandra.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

Western Melbourne

Brimbank Melton

Central Highlands

Wimmera South West