Higher Education Providers

Higher education is delivered by public universities and private providers in Victoria. Learn about the policies that regulate higher education in Victoria, including the university council appointment process.

Victoria's eight public universities are formed under their own individual Acts. The Minister for Higher Education and Skills administers the Acts that establish the universities and their governing bodies and accountability requirements.

Private providers are accredited by the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA). For information on accreditation, see: TEQSA

The Department develops policy in relation to higher education in Victoria, including regulation policy. It also manages stakeholder relations with universities and supports the legislative responsibilities relating to higher education, including the university council appointment process. For more information, see: University Council Appointment Process

The Department also represents the interests of Victorian universities and higher education providers in national forums.

The primary responsibility for university funding rests with the Australian Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIISRTE). For information on the higher education sector, including legislation, guidelines, student loans, scholarship programs and funding, see: DIISRTE