Curriculum Design Frameworks

From Term 1 2017, Victorian government and Catholic schools will use the new Victorian Curriculum F-10. Curriculum related information is currently being reviewed and may be subject to change.

For more information on the curriculum, see:
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 - VCAA

The curriculum in Victoria has been designed for ages 0-18 as a developmental continuum of learning.

There are different frameworks for each age group. These should be considered when curriculum planning. Transitions should also be considered at each level.​

Early Y​ears

For early childhood, The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF) VEYLDF is designed to guide practice for all professionals working in Victoria with children from birth to eight years. See:

What is the Victorian Early Years L​earning and Development Framework (VEYLDF)?

The Framework adopts a comprehensive approach to children’s learning and development and provides a shared language for all early childhood professionals to use when planning for children’s learning and development. For more information, see: Early Years VEYLDF​​​

Foundati​​on to ​​Year 10

For students in Foundation to Year 10 (F−10) a range of resources have been developed to support the implementation of the Victorian Curriculum F-10. For Victorian Curriculum Level A to Level 10, content descriptions and achievement standards, see: VCAA Victorian Curriculum F-10

What is the Victorian Curriculum F–10?

The Victorian Curriculum F-10 sets out what every student should learn during their first eleven years of schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.

It has been designed on the assumption that it is a statement of the common set of learning, not the whole-school teaching and learning program for every school. This is to ensure there is time for schools to include in their teaching and learning program areas that reflect school or systemic priorities and for students to pursue specific interests and develop particular expertise.

The curriculum sets out a single, coherent and comprehensive set of content descriptions and associated achievement standards to enable teachers to plan, monitor, assess and report on the learning achievement of every student.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes Towards Foundation Level Victorian Curriculum (Levels A to D) for students with additional learning needs or a disability. Foundation–10 Curriculum contains curriculum information, advice, and the latest information. It includes links to the Victorian Curriculum F-10 website and the Curriculum Planning Resource. For more information, see: VCAA Curriculum F-10

F-10 St​ructure

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 is structured as a continuum across levels of learning achievement not years of schooling. This enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students, where the curriculum is used to plan in relation to the actual learning level of each student rather than their assumed level of learning based on age or year level.

The curriculum includes eight learning areas and four capabilities.

The cross-curriculum priorities are:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
  • sustainability.

These priorities are embedded in the learning areas of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 across the learning areas of the Arts, Humanities and Technologies. For information on the cross-curriculum priorities, see: Cross-curriculum Priorities

For curriculum planning, assessment and reporting resources, curriculum-specific advice, and professional learning opportunities, see: Curriculum Planning

Senior secondary curriculum

For more information about the senior secondary curriculum, see:

VCE – Victorian Certificate of Education

Information about VCE studies, exams, assessment and related topics. See: VCE - Victorian Certificate of Education

VCE (Baccalaureate)

Information about the program designed for students who choose to undertake the demands of studying both a higher level mathematics and a language in their VCE program of study. See: VCE (Baccalaureate)

VCAL - Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning

Information about the VCAL curriculum for schools, providers, parents, students and employers. See: VCAL - Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning

VET - Vocational Education and Training

Information about VET programs and assessment in schools. See: VET - Vocational Education and Training

Curriculum planning for t​ransitions  

A well-planned and coordinated approach to transition, using the appropriate curriculum framework, can assist teachers to:

  • maintain continuity of learning and development for students
  • maintain and build on academic performance of students
  • support and develop the social and emotional wellbeing of students
  • minimise differences between settings.

For further information, see: