The e5 Instructional Model

From Term 1 2017, Victorian government and Catholic schools will use the new Victorian Curriculum F-10. Curriculum related information is currently being reviewed and may be subject to change.

For more information on the curriculum, see:
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 - VCAA

The e5 Instructional Model is a reference point for school leaders and teachers to develop a deeper understanding of what constitutes high quality teacher practice in the classroom.

1. Engage

  • Develops shared norms
  • Determines readiness for learning
  • Establishes learning goals
  • Develops metacognitive capacity

2. Explore

  • Prompts inquiry
  • Structures inquiry
  • Maintains session momentum

3. Explain

  • Presents new content
  • Develops language and literacy
  • Strengthens connections

4. Elaborate

  • Facilitates substantive conversation
  • Cultivates higher order thinking
  • Monitors progress

5. Evaluate

  • Assesses performance against standards
  • Facilitates student self assessment


The e5 logos appearing on this website are registered trade marks protected by law which are owned by the State of Victoria.