Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12

From Term 1 2017, Victorian government and Catholic schools will use the new Victorian Curriculum F-10. Curriculum related information is currently being reviewed and may be subject to change.

For more information on the curriculum, see:
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 - VCAA

The six principles 

The principles state that students learn best when:

  • the learning environment is supportive and productive
  • the learning environment promotes independence, interdependence and self-motivation
  • students’ needs, backgrounds, perspectives and interests are reflected in the learning program
  • students are challenged and supported to develop deep levels of thinking and application
  • assessment practices are an integral part of teaching and learning
  • learning connects strongly with communities and practice beyond the classroom.

The principles will help you to:

  • build consistent, comprehensive and improved pedagogical approaches within and across schools, while still allowing flexibility, innovation and local decision making at the school level
  • focus teaching to meet the diverse needs of students
  • strengthen learning communities within and beyond the school.

More information

For a breakdown of the six principles and their associated components, see: Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12 and related components

For detailed explanations and teaching examples for each of the six principles, see: Principles of Learning and Teaching P-12 Unpacked