Complementary providers

From Term 1 2017, Victorian government and Catholic schools will use the new Victorian Curriculum F-10. Curriculum related information is currently being reviewed and may be subject to change.

For more information on the curriculum, see:
The Victorian Curriculum F–10 - VCAA

The Victorian School of Languages (VSL) and Community language schools (CLS) provide out-of-school-hours language programs in 49 languages to students who cannot access the language of their choice in their mainstream schools.

The VSL also provides distance education program in 11 languages.

Victorian School of Languages (VSL)

The VSL is a government school which complements the provision of languages in out-of-school-hours programs in 49 languages (usually on Saturday mornings). It also offers distance education courses in approximately 11 languages to secondary students who do not have access to language programs in their mainstream schools for reasons such as remoteness, medical disability and travel.

Principals' endorsement is required for a student wishing to enrol in a VSL program.

Community Language Schools (CLS)

Community language schools are incorporated community-based, not-for-profit organisations accredited for funding by the Department.

Community language schools provide out-of-school-hours language programs in approximately 40 languages to school aged children (i.e. after school or on weekends).

The Department provides per capita grants to community language schools to the level of $215 per eligible student per annum. These grants are paid directly to the students' community language school.

For a list of accredited community language schools see:

Rental of school facilities by CLS

Information for school principals about use of government school premises by community language schools and information for principals of community language schools is available. See: