Changes to the National Quality Framework

Changes to the National Quality Framework

Changes the National Quality Framework (NQF) will come into force in Victoria from October 2017, following a review of the National Partnership Agreement on the National Quality Agenda for Early Childhood Education and Care which commenced in 2014.

The review considered if the NQF was being met in an effective and efficient way, and proposed options were tested with the sector, families and community.

The review found that the NQF is an important and successful reform, with strong stakeholder support, and some technical and operational improvements were required after five years of operation.

Changes to the National Law and Regulations will take effect from 1 October 2017, with a revised National Quality Standard to follow on 1 February 2018.

The Department will work with the sector to prepare for these changes, with information sessions planned in metropolitan and regional areas.

More information, guidance and resources will be released over the coming months.

What will change?

On 1 October 2017, these aspects of the National Law will be amended:

  • assessment and rating
  • rating levels
  • requirements for Family Day Care services
  • supervisor certificates
  • other changes that relate to service operations
  • regulatory authority powers and AQECQA functions

On 1 February 2018, the National Quality Standard will be revised, reducing the number of standards from 18 to 15, and the elements from 58 to 40. For more information, see:

Sector support

Information sessions to assist early childhood services to meet their new obligations will be announced in metropolitan and regional areas. Once live, bookings will be made through Eventbrite.

Further information