Assessment and Rating

​​Education and care services operating under the National Quality Framework are assessed and rated against the National Quality Standard and the requirements of the Education and Care Services National Law Act 2010 (National Law) and the Education and Care Services National Regulations 2011 (National Regulations).

The ratings for each service are available at the website of the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) and the MyChild website.

The National Regulations and the National Quality Standard are organised around seven quality areas. The seven quality areas are informed by best practice and the way in which high-quality education and care is delivered.

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Leadership and service management

The ratings that can be achieved by education and care services are:

  • Excellent (awarded by ACECQA)
  • Exceeding National Quality Standard
  • Meeting National Quality Standard
  • Working Towards National Quality Standard
  • Significant Improvement Required

Assessment and rating visits are announced.

For more information about the assessment and rating process please see the Assessment and Rating Fact Sheet and Frequently Asked Questions – Assessment and Rating. Information about the assessment and rating process is also available from ACECQA.

Evaluation of the assessment and rating process

The Standing Council on School Education and Early Childhood (SCSEEC) engaged the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) to evaluate the assessment and rating process nationally. The ACER report is available from the SCSEEC website.

Assessment and rating fact sheets