Early Childhood Intervention Services

Early Childhood Intervention Services (ECIS) support children with a disability or developmental delay from birth to school entry and their families. ECIS provides special education, therapeutic and developmental programs, counselling, service planning and coordination, assistance and support to access services such as kindergarten and child care.

Services are tailored to meet the individual needs of the child and focused on supporting the child in their natural environments and in their everyday experiences and activities. These services are funded through the Department of Education and Training (DET) and provided by Specialist Children's Services teams and Early Childhood Intervention agencies.

The overall aim of these services is to provide parents and families with the knowledge, skills and support to meet the needs of their child and to optimise the child's development and ability to participate in family and community life. All services are provided using a family-centred approach, recognising the importance of working in partnership with the family.

A current list of DET funded ECIS providers is available via:

Applications for ECIS are managed by ECIS Intake teams across the state, providing a clear, visible and coordinated entry point into ECIS for families and referring agencies.

Details on how to apply and the application form are available via:

​Please note: Families living in the local government areas of Barwon and North East Melbourne areas are required to apply for support through the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) not ECIS. See below for details.

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS)

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is rolling out across Victoria from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2019. Early Childhood Intervention Services will transition to the NDIS over this period.

Families of children seeking ECIS who reside in the following local government areas are required to apply for support through the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) not the DET ECIS Intake teams: ​​

NDIA Barwon area:

  • ​City of Greater Geelong
  • Borough of Queenscliffe
  • Surf Coast
  • Colac - Otway Shires.

NDIA North East Melbourne area:​​

  • ​Cities of Banyule
  • Darebin
  • Whittlesea
  • Yarra
  • Nillumbik Shire.

NDIA Central Highlands area:​​

  • ​City of Ballarat
  • Rural City of Ararat
  • Golden Plains Shire
  • Moorabool Shire
  • Hepburn Shire
  • Pyrenees Shire

Please contact the NDIA for further information on 1800 800 110 if you are seeking ECIS and reside in one of these areas.

For more information, see: