Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework

The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (VEYLDF) is designed to advance all children’s learning and development from birth to eight years of age.

The VEYLDF provides early childhood professionals with a common language for describing outcomes for children, and describes practice principles to guide early childhood professionals to work together, with children and with families to achieve the best outcomes for every child.


  • identifies five Early Years Learning and Development Outcomes for all children
  • identifies eight Practice Principles for Learning and Development, categorised as Collaborative, Effective and Reflective. The Practice Principles describe the most effective ways for early childhood professionals to work together, with children and with families to facilitate learning and development
  • emphasises the importance of supporting children’s and families’ transitions as they move within and across services throughout the early childhood period.

    Who should use it?

The VEYLDF is intended to support all professionals who work with children from birth to eight years, including maternal and child health nurses, all early childhood practitioners who work directly with children in early childhood settings, school teachers, outside school hours care professionals, family support workers, preschool field officers, inclusion support facilitators, student support service officers, primary school nurses, primary welfare officers, early childhood intervention workers, play therapists, health professionals, teachers working in hospitals, and education officers in cultural organisations.

How does it relate to other documents?

The VEYLDF, the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia (EYLF) and My Time, Our Place: Framework for School Age Care in Australia (MTOP) are aligned and complementary. All three are approved frameworks under the National Quality Framework. They share the same five learning outcomes agreed by all Australian governments as important for children’s development. The EYLF and MTOP refer specifically to early childhood educators, while the VEYLDF is intended to support the work of all early childhood professionals.

The VEYLDF also complements other discipline specific resources that already support early childhood professionals, including the AusVELS and the Maternal and Child Health Key Ages and Stages Framework. In this way the VEYLDF supports common understanding and shared conversations amongst professionals across disciplines, and between professionals and families, to support children’s learning and development. 

For more information, see:

How do I get a copy ?

Copies of the VEYLDF were distributed to all registered early childhood services in 2010.

Early childhood professionals, early childhood services, registered training organisations and universities can request additional copies by emailing with the following information - 

  • contact name
  • service name (if applicable)
  • number of copies requested
  • delivery address, including suburb and post code (note: if ordering multiple copies, a street address rather than PO box is necessary)
  • telephone number. 

See: Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (PDF - 1.6Mb)

Other support

A number of professional learning opportunities and resources are available to support early childhood professionals to engage with the VEYLDF.