Qualifications and Registration


To practice in Victoria, maternal and child health nurses must have the following qualifications: 

  • Division 1 Registered Nurse 
  • Registered Midwife 
  • Additional qualifications in maternal and child health. 

These requirements are unaffected by the recent change to national registration.

National registration

A new national registration and accreditation scheme for nurses and midwives began on 1 July 2010, and a new National Law (the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009) came into effect to regulate the profession. 

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) is now responsible for setting standards and policies for the regulation of all nurses and midwives registered in Australia. It will be supported in this task by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). 

The NMBA has taken over the functions previously managed by the Nurses Board of Victoria. 

For more information about how the national registration scheme operates, see: Australian Health Practitioners Regulation Agency or Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia